There’s just so many things to thank the Lord for…

Last Wednesday, my small group and I had a wonderful time of studying God’s word and we were all reminded to be grateful for what we have been blessed with. Thank God for the Apostle Paul for writing this to the Philippians expressing his gratefulness to them:

“I rejoiced greatly in the Lord that at last you renewed your concern for me. Indeed, you were concerned, but you had no opportunity to show it. 11 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength. 14 Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles. 15 Moreover, as you Philippians know, in the early days of your acquaintance with the gospel, when I set out from Macedonia, not one church shared with me in the matter of giving and receiving, except you only; 16 for even when I was in Thessalonica, you sent me aid more than once when I was in need. 17 Not that I desire your gifts; what I desire is that more be credited to your account. 18 I have received full payment and have more than enough. I am amply supplied, now that I have received from Epaphroditus the gifts you sent. They are a fragrant offering, an acceptable sacrifice, pleasing to God. 19 And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus. 20 To our God and Father be glory for ever and ever. Amen.” ~Philippians 4:10-20 (NIV)

Learning the wisdom and truth of this passage is true joy for me already but for a small group leader, it magnifies to an even better joy (if there’s anything like that), when what is learned is applied by her small group which also influences many others. Jeni Borja, one of my dear small group members, sent me a text message telling me how our study inspired her to remind herself to be thankful every single day. So she started this campaign on her wall:

[Dated: Dec. 16] 15 days na lang before this year ends. I encourage everyone to share what you are thankful for from the Lord. Wall post everyday for 15 days and may the Lord instill to us a grateful heart at the start of 2011. Big or small, let us praise God β™₯

And true enough, it was an effective tool to remind us what we usually forget–to count our blessings and be thankful for them. Not only was she doing this for herself, but she has helped remind others to focus on God and his blessings rather than be affected by the negative circumstances that we cannot control.

Just see how the usual statuses (be it SBCCers or other friends) of rants, complains and other things turned into praises, gratefulness and declarations of God’s awesomeness through his blessings. I know mine have. πŸ™‚

Since I have not gone online for some days, I owe three-day’s worth of “I thank God for”…

1) I thank God for SBCC. For equipping me, building me up, encouraging me, bringing me joy and strengthening me in faith. I truly love this family of God. ❀
2) I thank God for the babe in the manger–JESUS. What amazing power and magnificence He held in that tiny being yet allowed himself to be confined in humanity that He may personally relate to each and everyone of us the wonderful redemptive love of God for all mankind.
3) I thank God for Jeni Borja for being an encouragement to me…at the time I needed most. I love you Jeni! ❀

So there… what is it that you thank God for? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

